top of page

Sergiana Group-Restaurant Ceasul Rau

It's the end of the day, of July 8 and it was time to go eat dinner. So after Adventure Park, my brother Avi's Hike to The Sever Ladder Canyon, and our shopping, we arrived at the hotel and had some time to rest and get ready for dinner. Some of us went down to the pool before going out to eat.

After some very refreshing pool time it was time to go to dinner. Today was a very special day because it was July 8 and it is the day of my grandmother Betty birth, which if she would be alive , she would have been 119. And also it was Roxana, Our tour guide Daniel's wife birthday.

My beautiful Grandma Betty, I miss her so much.

Roxana got this beautiful flowers from her sweet husband Daniel, for her birthday.

I think that our guide picked the perfect restaurant for us for that night. It was a place in Brasov called Ceasul Rau, and they specializing in grilling the best meats on a stone made oven right in front of you. Pretty amazing stuff! My cousins are Vegan and luckily they also had what to eat there. Everything was so good!! Exceptionally good!

Click on the picture below to go the restaurant website

When we got there the table was already for us. We started with A shot of a drink called Palinca or Tuica which is a traditional Romanian spirit that contains ~ 24–70% alcohol by volume, prepared from plums.

I could not tell you how happy we were all to be together, I was on cloud nine to be able to be with my family.

In the pic below is m a kabob called mititei or mici it is a traditional Romanian dish of grilled ground meat rolls made from a mixture of beef, lamb and pork with spices, and super yummy sausages.

On the bottom picture is a very traditional sauce made out of crashed garlic and water, that you put on your stake. I remember my mom always made it at home, growing up.

And just like last night Pierra was too tired , once again to stay awake for dinner. My sweet little Pierra :)

Finally for dessert we had to order once again Papanași which is a Romanian traditional fried or boiled pastry, Usually filled with a soft cheese such as urdă and any kind of sour jam. The word papanași may come from the Latin papa or pappa, which means "food for children". Another traditional dessert is a thing called Clatite, which is a kind of Crêpe or blintzes.

Like I said earlier in the post, it was a special day today, it was Roxana's birthday, so we ordered a bottle of champagne and we all raised our glasses and cheered for her.

I so I wish I had a video or pictures of that but I think we all just enjoyed the moment. When we came out of the restaurant, I guess it was the perfect timing. Right in front of us, there was a magnificent display of fireworks. We all looked in awe up at the sky.Im not sure what the celebration was, but we all felt like it was a private show just for us, to end yet once again a perfect night. Maybe it was my grandma Betty, saying hi to us from heaven, on her birthday.

After the restaurant, we came to the hotel and I got together to raise a glass with Jay, my mom and my brother for Grandma Betty, and had some Cozonac which is is a traditional Romanian and Bulgarian sweet leavened bread, which is a type of Stollen. It is usually prepared for Easter in Bulgaria, and mostly for every major holiday in Romania and Moldova. I will write about it more, later in the blog.

Needless to say It was a perfect Transylvanian night. The moon was full and the clouds were so beautiful over the lit sign of Brasov.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page